Posted in .NET Development

Using docker for development

Docker has become a standard in the way we package and deploy our applications. But docker can provide some benefits outside of just “deployment”

VS Code – Remote Containers

Now this is a revolutionary concept. An isolated, repeatable, sharable development environment.

You can connect to a container in VS Code, develop and debug as if you have all the dependencies installed locally and when you’re done, simply remove the container again.

Startup dependencies with docker compose

Developing and debugging services locally can be challenging when they make use of a lot of external services.

Here I share some challenges I faced and an approach I took with Docker Compose to startup the multiple dependencies I need to develop an API service.

Author:

I am enthusiastic about technology and people. I especially have a passion for imparting things I have learnt over my career or am in the process of learning. A strong desire of mine is to empower bright youngsters with potential (especially those from a disadvantaged background). I'm privileged to be in expanding industry that seems to always be looking for new talent and the opportunities are countless for those willing to apply themselves to the trade. https://filteredcode.co.za

Leave a comment